The “ROOT” and The “FRUIT”

I would like to investigate the “ROOT” first. Without discovering the source of the FRUIT, there will be no harvest. The “ROOT” in this series is: THE BLESSING. Not “a blessing” but THE BLESSING. That is significant in my detective work.

Several years ago I was attending a local Assembly Of God church. Every Sunday morning, an older gentleman would greet me at the sanctuary door with his hand out to mine. He would always say, “God bless you brother.”  My answer to his greeting was always, “Thank you, I AM BLESSED!” One morning he said to me, “why do you always say that to me? I just want to bless you.” I never intended to offend nor give the impression that I was being “spiritual” in answering his greeting. I apologized to him, telling him that’s how I respond to everyone who says, “Bless you Mel”.  I will attempt to share, over the next several days in my BLOG, what God’s word says about THE BLESSING and the meaning behind my reponse to the greeting.

Lets look at Proverbs 10:22 which says, “THE BLESSING of the Lord—” . Notice this verse begins with “THE BLESSING”, Not “A blessing of the Lord—“.  That was my first clue. There must be a difference between “THE and “A”.  I kept digging in God’s word and uncovered a clue in Genesis 12. These next verses in Genesis, are the beginnings of The Root or The Blessing. The Blessing is called the “Abrahamic Blessing” or “Covenant”.

Verses 2-3 say, “And I will make of you a great nation, and I will BLESS you [with abundant increase of favors] and make your name famous and distinguished, and you will be a blessing [dispensing good to others]. And I will BLESS those who BLESS you [who confer prosperity or happiness upon you] and curse him who curses or uses insolent language toward you; in you will ALL the families and kindred of the earth be blessed [and by you they will bless themselves]. Amplified Version.  Abraham had to BLESSED first in verse 2 and then a BLESSING. If you don’t believe you’re BLESSED, no matter the circumstance, you won’t receive a BLESSING.  I can agree with some scholars that there are, what is called  “BLESSING BLOCKERS“.  Sin, or falling short of the mark, is called, “BLESSING BLOCKERS“. When the BLESSING is blocked, you won’t see THE FRUIT.  We will investigate what the FRUIT is later.

Now turn back to Proverbs 10:22 and see what The Blessing can provide for us.  The verse begins with “The Blessing of the Lord—” then explains what it can do; “it makes [truly] rich, and He adds no sorrow with it [neither does toiling increase it].”  There is nothing YOU can add by working on the blessing. There is all kinds of rich. Being rich is not limited to money! It is not just material goods. Turn to Revelation 3:17 and you will see what I mean.

“For you say, I am rich; I have prospered and grown wealthy, and I am in need of nothing; and you do not realize and understand that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked.”

Material goods can mean that you are still lacking, as Revelation 3:17 says.  At this point I would like to bring in what is called, a “pie analogy”. The whole pie can be called the “prosperity pie“. All the cut slices comprise the making of wholeness. There is a “health slice”, a “relationship” slice, a “financial” slice, a “spiritual” slice. One slice doesn’t make the “prosperity pie” whole. I hope this “pie analogy” gives a  clearer image of The Blessing provision. Prosperity in material goods is just a slice of the whole pie.

Lets now go back to the beginning of the bible, to Genesis 13. In verse 2, it says “Now Abram was EXTREMELY RICH in livestock and in silver and in gold.” Remember what Proverbs 10:22 said about The Blessing; “it makes [truly] rich”. Abram was rich because he had received The Blessing; God spoke it on him. According to Genesis 13:1, we see that Lot had tagged along with his uncle on the trek to Egypt.  God’s Word in Genesis 13:5, shows the importance of relationships, in accordance with the Abrahamic Blessing.

“But Lot, who went with Abram, also had flocks and herds and tents.”

Lot joined up with his Uncle Abram in Genesis 13:1. He knew that Abram had the blessing given to him from the Lord. Lot also could see the whole “prosperity pie”  and said to himself when they left for Egypt, “I am not the brightest fellow in the land, but will see if I can get just a slice of that “prosperity pie.”  Verse 6 says, “Now the land was not able to nourish and support them [Abram and Lot] so they could dwell together, for their possessions were too great for them to live together.”  Can you see in this example of the importance of who we hang out with?

It’s almost supper time and I can almost taste it from the smells. I wonder if there might even be a slice of pie in the oven? No…I was just thinking it would good after our discussion. Tomorrow I will continue to look at “The RootThe Blessing”. Hope you will join me.

Leave a Reply

