What is the PROMISE we can stand on?

It was on an November evening; it had been stormy all day. It’s the Northwest and that is what it is supposed to do that, time of year. But this time, the storm was becoming more intense than usual. The rain was coming down in buckets as the sky grew darker and the outside temperature had dropped from 41 degrees to 34 degrees in the matter of minutes. I could hear thunder in the far distance, yet the thunder seemed to be coming closer and louder. I went to the front window and peered outside toward the west when a flash of lightning lit the whole sky. The lightning flashes began turning into “bolts” now, as the storm came closer to our neighborhood. My wife and I had never seen lightning this fierce before. Then I heard a still small voice speaking to my spirit. ‘Go outside and face the storm and speak these words, “I demand that this storm bypass my home. Protect my family in the Name of Jesus.”  By the way, in case you are wondering, I yelled those exact words on our front lawn as I faced the lightning. I had been given authority, that God was backing me in my authority, though my confidence was somewhat lacking. The lightning and thunder passed by. It was still raining hard but the fierceness of the storm was over. I have learned that confidence only grows with exercising you faith. 

Go with me to the Book of Philippians and see the confidence that the Apostle Paul is showing through God’s PROMISE.

Verse 18,  “…I have everything I need and amply supplied…”  CONFIDENCE! Verse 19 continues in saying,  “And my God will liberally supply (fill to the full) your EVERY NEED according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

That is a PROMISE that Paul stood on and the PROMISE we can stand on. My need in the storm was for protection from the elements. What are your needs right now?

As The Word Detective, I love to do “word studies”. Over the years, Dianne and I have built up a library of information that gives me the sought out evidence, searching for the truth. Our Bibles are still the first choice but outside resources only confirm to us what the Holy Spirit has already conveyed in the Word. I decided to do a study on the word “need in Philippians 4:19. A synonym for “need” is “necessity“. Webster’s New Universal Dictionary says, “…comes from a Latin origin. It shows a stronger expression than the word “need“. It expresses an urgency or imperative demand.”

A Demand Slip at Best Buy

Have you ever heard of a “demand slip” at a retail store? It’s when you see an appliance, for example at Best Buy and you tell the salesman you want to purchase it. He gives you a “demand slip” to take to the register and pay for it. You do so and the store clerk tells you to go around the building to the loading dock and show them your PAID RECEIPT. You do as your told and the loading employee ask you for the “demand slip“. I paid for the appliance but in order for the warehouseman to fill my “need“, he has to know which appliance to load on my truck. He requires the “DEMAND SLIP“! I already paid the price but I need the authority slip to satisfy the need. “Are you saying when I ask God for something, I should demand it? It’s your intent in asking and not a disrespectful request. God already knows what your “need is”.

Ephesians 1:17-2:7 gives a great picture of our authority as believers   Let’s pick up the evidence given in verse 19:  “And [so that you Mel can know and understand] what is the immeasurable and unlimited and surpassing greatness of His power in and for us who believe…”  To make scripture more personal, I often cross out the word “You” and right in my name. Try it sometime! The Greek word for “power” is the word “dunamis“. We get the English word DYNAMITE from that Greek word. So as believers, we have His “dunamisin and for us. The same POWER which “He exerted in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His [own] right hand…” Verse 20.  Now look at verse 22 closely and see some uncovering evidence of  “Who’s in charge here?”

Verse 22 answers,  “And He has put all things under His feet and has appointed Him (JESUS) the universal and supreme Head of the church.”

His feet” is part of the body. The head can’t move in one direction and the feet go in a different direction. Both the head and feet are attached to the body. Jesus is sitting at the right hand of the Father in heaven. Since we are “The Church”; the body of Christ and the feet, we have been authorized or delegated to do dunamis things. That my friends, is a PROMISE we can stand on!

We have been given AUTHORITY to reign

Turn to Romans 5:17:  “…those who receive [God’s] overflowing grace and the free gift of righteousness [putting them in right standing with Himself] reign as kings in life through the one Man Jesus Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

Verse 17 tells us that we have been given authority to reign or rule over; we are in charge annd that is a PROMISE!  Luke 10:19 says that we have been given authority, and the power, and the ability to trample upon the enemy. Luke 10:9 tells us that with our God-given authority, we can “…heal the sick and say, The kingdom of God has come close to you.”  You have to realize that, you have the power given to you by God, to exercise it and see the results. Why? Because the Word says so! I want to receive something that I can exercise; it is NOT a magic trick. I DEMAND IT in Jesus Name because God’s Word says I have mastery. Quit thinking about the results of the circumstance; move on in your authority. You are to “walk by faith and not by sight.”

Smith Wigglesworth, an old English Pastor, once was asked to come to a home of a deathly sick man. When he finally arrived, the sick  mans family informed Pastor Wigglesworth, the man had died. He was shown where the dead man was lying on the floor and Wigglesworth pick the man up and pushed the dead body against the wall. “In the Name of Jesus…WALK!”  The man’s body crumpled on the floor. Again Smith followed the procedure and once more said, “You are healed! In Jesus name.” The body fell flat on the floor with life still absent. Smith then turned around and said to the dead man’s family, “Your husband and father’s spirit has left his body and he didn’t want to come back here again.”  Smith Wigglesworth knew his authority in Jesus Name but it was time to “move on”. He knew what the PROMISE was to stand on. The “results” didn’t hinder his confidence in his authority.

The next and last blog in the series, “Who is in charge here?”  is called,  “How this whole thing got started” in Genesis 1.              I hope you are enjoying the evidence presented on your authority here on earth, as much as I enjoy the detective work.

Leave a Reply

