“Faith and How it Works”—Part III of, “FAITH in the Kingdom of God”

Hebrews 11:6 says,  “BUT without FAITH it is impossible to please and be satisfactory to Him. For whoever would come near to God MUST [necessarily] believe that God exist and that He is the rewarder of those who earnestly and diligently seek Him.”

The verse in Hebrews is pretty straight forward isn’t it. Without FAITH, we can’t please God. And if we can’t don’t please Him by our FAITH, there will be no rewards given. According to God’s Word and not mine, that’s how FAITH works!

I am not much on exercising, however that doesn’t mean it’s not healthy for me, I just am not a great participant in my doing. Most of my exercise comes from walking Riley, the Cocker Spaniel thru the neighborhood three to four times per day. THAT’S IT? My thinking is, ‘it’s better than nothing’; maybe not.  Regardless of how we go about exercising, we all know that it’s healthy for our physical developement. It is also healthy for our spiritual well-being. Turn with me next to the Book of II Corinthians 5, and read verses 5-10. I’ll wait for you to do that.

In Verse 7, it reads  For we WALK by FAITH [we regulate our lives and conduct ourselves by our conviction or belief respecting man’s relationship to God and divine things, with trust and holy fervor; thus WE WALK] not by sight or appearance.”

Can you see how your FAITH is being developed in verse 7?  The Amplified Version I used, puts an explanation in brackets. The word “regulate” comes from Joseph Thayer, A Greek-English Lexicon Testament. When I was doing the detective work  today on “Faith & How it Works”, I picked up several clues along the way in the referenced five verses, in “walking by faith“.

Verse 8,  “We have confident and hopeful courage” in our walking.  We should too, because we our walking not by sight! You have to confident as your walking when you have your eyes closed. Try it sometime!

Verse 9,  “We are constantly ambitious and strive earnestly to be pleasing to Him.”  FAITH walking is a marathon. You have to be “ambitious” and “strive earnestly” in exercising your FAITH. And when we cross the finish line in Verse 10? :

“For we must ALL appear and be revealed as we are before the judgement seat of Christ, so that each one may receive [his pay] according to what he has done in the body, whether good or evil [considering what his purpose and motive have been, and what he has achieved, been busy with, and given himself and his attention to accomplishing].”

So am I saying to you, when we get to the Judgement Seat of God, you are going to be examined in how well you walked by FAITH? In the physical body? My answer to your question is YES; because the Word says so!

The Foundations of FAITH

Psalm 104:5 says,  “You laid the FOUNDATIONS of the earth, that it should not be moved forever.”

Colossians 1:23,  “[And this He will do] provided you continue to stay with and in FAITH [in Christ], well-grounded and settled and steadfast, not shifting or moving away from the hope…”

The Greek word “themelioo” is used in Colossians 1:23 for A FOUNDATION; “well-grounded”. I found four clues of “The Foundations of FAITH” in Romans 10:6-17. After you read the verses given, you might find even more clues than the Word Detective.

Clue #1.  Preach about it.  (verse 8)

Clue #2.  Hear about it. (Verse 14, 16, 17)

Clue #3.  Believe what you hear!  (Verse 9-10)

Clue #4.  Receive what you hear!  (Verse 17)

Put these four clues in your exercise, and you will be wellgroundedin your FAITH.  Your potential will be increased when you hear the Word.

Victory in FAITH

“O victory in Jesus, my Savior, forever!  He sought me and bought me with His redeeming blood;  He loved me ere I knew Him, and all my love is due Him–He plunged me to victory beneath the cleansing flood.”

I sang that old Hymn many times when I was “redeemed by His blood” in the early 70’s [my testimony is on my Home Page].  Don’t hear it much anymore and I think that we should. That “Victory in Jesus” hymn written by Bartlett and Hartford is “wellgrounded” in I John 5:1-4.

Verse 1 says,  “EVERYONE WHO believes that Jesus is the Christ (the Messiah) is a born-again child of God…”

To someone who is or has work with you before, “Christ is not Jesus’ last name”.  Christ means “the anointed One”. What is JESUS’ last name?  “AM” — “I AM”.

Verse 4 continues in saying,  “For whatever is born of God is victorious over the world; and this is the victory that conquers the world, even our FAITH.”  Your FAITH is the victory and if you want victory in your life, act like thevictorVictory doesn’t depend on how you feel about things.  Pain might be there, it won’t be comfortable but because I confront it with VICTORY and walk by FAITH, I will be a conqueror. Have you ever heard in history, of a person who had the title of a “Conqueror”, who ever was defeated in battle or not victorious? Disease is a battle in your life; it attacks you when you least expect it.  I John 5 says that if you are “born of God“, you are “victorious over the world“.  When Jesus died on the cross for us and was resurrected for us, we should know by FAITH that:

I am already healed.

I am already delivered.

I am already prosperous.

I am already made whole.

I ALREADY got these things because FAITH IS MY VICTORY.  The WORD is the evidence of what I cannot see while walking in faith. The devil tries to defeat us by saying, “You don’t have that”; I don’t feel healed or I don’t feel rich. BUT I am! God’s Word says so!

I remember when I played organized baseball when I was young. After every season, trophies were handed out to everyone who was a participant. They all looked exactly the same except what was sometimes engraved on the front; “Champions1st Place” or “Best Pitcher19..”. I am not going to fill in the exact year.

II Corinthians 2:14 says,  “BUT thanks be to God, Who in Christ always leads us in triumph [as trophies of Christ’s victory] and through us spreads and makes evident the fragrance of the knowledge of God everywhere.”

Christ leads us into triumph; “We are the Champions” and as His trophies “we are the evidence of His victory over death”.

In Hebrews 11:32-40, we read what God specifically did for people of the past by their FAITH. What was it we have today that they didn’t have?

FAITH isn’t IMPARTED, it’s IMPLANTED!

Mark 9:23  “And Jesus said, [You say to Me], If  You can do anything? [Why,] all things can be (are possible) to him who believes.” 

I am a “believer” of God’s Word and not a “doubter.  Jesus’ mother, Mary was a believer of the Word, even though she couldn’t see the word manifested yet. 

Luke 1:45 says,  “And blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of the things that were spoken to her from the Lord.”

“Blessed” means “empowered to succeed“. God performed what He told to Mary; He didn’t or doesn’t perform or act because ‘we to Him to do it”.  So, what has God told you to do lately?  The next blog concerning “Faith and How it Worksin the Kingdom of God, Part IV will be about “The Word that God Told You” .  

 

 

