The Hand of God

The Hebrew word for “Hand” is yad“.   This noun is very common in the Old Testament, occurring about 14oo times.  In the majority of cases, “yad refers both to the literal physical part of the body, as well as to the metaphorical senses of “strength”  “power,” “instrument, ” or “authority.”  The term is predicated of both human beings and God. That readers is the definition given in the “Expository Dictionary of Bible Words”.

I felt that since “The Hand of God” is repeated in the Old Testament about 1400 times (we will get to the New Testament later), I should start with an investigative search in the Bible, in the meanings to “The Hand of God“.  Have we missed the importance and perhaps misunderstood God’s hand and it’s meaning? Let’s getted started with the Book of Psalms, to hear the Psalmist’ cry and then go on from that point.

Psalm 31:5,  “Into Your hands I commit my spirit; You have redeemed me, O Lord, the God of truth and faithfulness.”

 

“RELEASING the HAND of GOD” and “How to get recompense from the Devil”.  

Turn to the Book of Acts, where I continued uncovering the facts regarding “The Hand of God”.

Acts 11:19-21 in the New International version reads,

“Now those who had been scattered by the persecution in connection with Stephen traveled as far a Phoenicia, Cyprus and Antioch, telling the message only to the Jews.  Some of them, however, men from Cyprus and Cyrene, went to Antioch and began to speak to Greeks also, telling them the good news about the Lord Jesus.  The Lord’s hand was with them, and a great number of people believed and turned to God.”

Dianne, my wife, has been after me for weeks to read the remarkable true story of Chinese Brother Yun. The book is called, “The Heavenly Man“. I just started reading through it yesterday morning but what I have discovered is “the Lord’s hand was with” this “Heavenly Man“. 

 I found a two-fold purpose in “The hand of the Lord” in the following references.

#1.  Speaks of God’s power expressed in judgement.

#2.  God’s power expressed in blessing.

Acts 13:6; 9-10; 11

Verse 6,  “…they came upon a certain Jewish wizard or sorcerer, a false prophet named Bar-Jesus.”

Verse 9-10,  “BUT Saul, who is called Paul, filled with and controlled by the Holy spirit, looked steadily at [Elymus]  And said, You master in every form of deception and recklessness, unscrupulousness and wickedness, you son of the devil, you enemy of everything that is upright and good, will you never stop perverting and making crooked the straight paths of the Lord and plotting against His saving purposes?”

Verse 11,  “And now, lo, the hand of the Lord is upon you, and you shall be blind, [so blind that you will be] unable to see the sun for a time.  Instantly there fell upon him a mist and a darkness, and he groped about seeking persons who would lead him by the hand.”

“Behold [lo], the hand of the Lord.”

Exodus 3:20-21  “So I will stretch out My hand…”

Judgement:  “…smite Egypt”

Recompense:  “…I will give this people [the Jewish people] favor and respect in the sight of the Egyptians…”

Exodus 13:3  “for by the strength of hand the Lord brought you out” 

God got the people out of the situation of “bondage”.  Verse 9,  “…for with a strong hand the Lord has brought you out…”; and Verse 14 repeats and says  “By the strength of hand the Lord brought us out…”.

I often refer to myself as being ambidextrous but in reality, not really.  I do everything with my right hand but write with a pencil; and that is with my left hand. My strongest side is still my “right” side. I have heard the saying, ” People who are really ‘left handed’ in life are the only people in their ‘right’ minds.” I guess I am only ‘partially in my right mind’.  After divulging my little secret, how is that all come into play with “The Hand of God”?

Exodus 15:6  “Your right hand, O Lord, is glorious in power;  Your right hand, O Lord, shatters the enemy.”

The “right hand”; refers to  “power” and “strength”.  The “right hand of God” should be ‘dominate’ in our lives.

In Numbers 11:21-22,  Moses begins asking God for some answers regarding the Jewish people’s lack! Moses wanted the details!

Verse 21,  “BUT Moses said,  The people among whom I am are 600,000 footmen [besides all the women and children], and You have said I will give them meat, that they may eat a whole month!”  Moses wants specifics from God. How are you Lord, going to come through for all these people, including myself?  Verse 22,  “Shall flocks and herds be killed to suffice them?  Or shall all the fish of the sea be collected to satisfy them?”  I find sometimes in my “lack” I often forget how God has replenished His supply, every time! I suffer from ‘spiritual amnesia’ as Moses might have here in these verses. Look at how God answers Moses in verse 23.

“The Lord said to Moses, Has the Lord’s hand (His ability and power) become short (thwarted and inadequate)?  You shall see now whether My word shall come to pass for you or not.”

Here is a quote I had written down in my Bible.  I would like to share it with thoses who have ‘spiritual amnesia’ at times. You should write it down somewhere to help you focus on “The power and the ability of  His hand“.

“I got what I got and have what I have because of the hand of God”.  Remember, when you read this out loud to yourself, in the time of need, God always gets the glory!

Be your own Word detective and search for the evidence of God’s hand in your life.

Joshua 4:22-23 says,  “You shall let your children know…”  what God has done for you specifically.

The emphasis for your children knowing is contained in verse 24.  “That all the people s of the earth may know”  It even goes beyond your family knowing,  “that the hand of the Lord is mighty and that you may reverence and fear [fear is “the audacity to obey”] the Lord your God forever.”

Questions to ask yourself:

#1.  What is the evidence of God’s hand in my life?

#2.  Who have I told it to?

I will continue my investigation as The WORD Detective in the next blog.  Be sure to follow along with your Bibles and an open mind.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

