TRUST: “A Confident Expectation of Something”

Before getting into the Word, I would like to expound on the word “TRUST” and its definitions. First The Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary:

“A reliance on the integrity of someone or something; strength, ability; confidence, “A confident expectation of something”; hope.

And now the “legal” definition of TRUST:

“An arrangement whereby a person to whom the legal title to property is conveyed (the TRUSTEE) holds such property for the benefit of those entitled to the beneficial interest.”

God is responsible for the plan He’s set in your life. ‘He conveys the legal title of His property to His hiers and we therefore are entitled to the benefits.’  [READ Ephesians 2:10].

The Amplified version of that verse in Ephesians states it this way:  “For we are God’s [own] handiwork (His workmanship), recreated in Christ Jesus, [born anew] that we may do those good works which God predestined (planned beforehand) for us [taking paths which He prepared ahead of time], that we should walk in them…”

Everyone who has been “born anew” has this plan or His will in your life. We are His “trustee”. Until you find the “will” for your life, you will feel a void.

I used to be in the “void” matrix; I had never really known God’s will for my life. And then about four years ago or more, I took the “red pill” and ventured, as Alice did down the “rabbit hole“.  You can read about that experience in one of The WORD Detective’s previous blogs; “Choices; I Choose the Red Pill”.

TRUSTING GOD means, when things are going right, or when they’re not you plant yourself in God no matter what!Trust means that you are relying on Him to accomplish His will in your life.

There is a blessing not to know everything there is or going to be in your life. Stop taking the glory away from God. Every good thing that has happened in your life came from the Power of the Holy Spirit.

The anointing shows up when you TRUST GOD and God’s will in your life won’t happen unless…

1.  I TRUST Him to do it!  Not me, He will do it! DOUBT will disappear.

2.  A LOVE Relationship is developing in your life. Not emotional LOVE.

The Excercise of Loving.

“LOVE can be known only from the actions it prompts. God’s love is seen in the gift of His Son.”  I John 4:8-10 says, “God is LOVE” and “In this LOVE…” (verses 9-10); “God was made manifest where we are concerned: in that God sent His Son…”   “not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”

We probably all know the LOVE chapter, I Corinthians 13. If not, you should read it now before going on. I’ll wait for you to finish…  In my searching the truth the last few days, I ran across some bracketed words contained in the Amplified version of I Corinthians 13:1, words that might give you a clearer understanding of the exercise of loving; God first and then others.

“IF I [can] speak in tongues of men and [even] of angels, BUT have not LOVE… (that reasoning, intentional, spiritual devotion such as inspired by God’s love for and in us), I am only a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.”

So LOVE is something that is “reasoned“, it’sintentional“, it comes froma spiritual devotion“, all of which is inspired by God’s Love for us and in us; because of His Spirit living inside of us. Now with that kind of LOVE, TRUST has to be a integral part of the relationship. After reading chapter 13 and the verses telling us what LOVE is and what LOVE is not, let me point specifically to the love/trust connection in verse 7:

“LOVE bears up under anything and everything that comes…its ever ready to believe the best of every person” and the New International Version says LOVE “always protects, always TRUSTS, always hopes…”

In that verse alone I uncovered clues regarding “The Exercise of Loving”:

CLUE #1.  “anything and everything that comes”  Godly LOVE and TRUST will do that! 

CLUE #2.  “ever ready to believe the best”.  That “CLUE” reinforces the definition blog title of,  TRUST: “A Confident Expectation of Something”.

CLUE #3.  “LOVE ALWAYS TRUSTS…”   Not sometimes, mostly always,  BUT ALWAYS trusts!

Trustworthiness in your “calling”.

I Thessalonians 5:24 says,  “Faithful is He Who is calling you [to Himself] and utterly TRUSTWORTHY, and He will also do it [fulfill His call by hallowing and keeping you].”

I want you to do something that I do often in my reading of the Bible. I take a pen and lightly run a line through the “you’s” and write in my name above it.  So the verse in I Thessalonians might read,  “faithful is He Who is calling MEL to Himself..”  God said, “when I called Mel to Myself, through Mel, I will do it!  God calls you to prayer and He will do it!; God calls you to worship and He will do it!; God calls you to serve and He will do it!  Don’t TRUST yourself to do it, for God is “Faithful and utterly Trustworthy” to “do it” in you through His call!

How many times has someone in the church asked you to do something that you have never done before? Several years ago I receive a phone call from the Pastor of a church I was attending. He knew I had some experience in Christian Drama, so he asked me,  “Could you come up with an Easter Drama this year?”  My immediate answer was the one we often reply with when we have doubts about the “asking” and “the doing”.  “Let me pray about it and I will get back to you Pastor.”  I didn’t know how to even pray for an answer. My experience was only in acting and music; no writing, directing, producing experience at all!  “I can’t do it…period!”  That night before closing my eyes, I prayed to God in Jesus” Name,  “please help me explain to Pastor that I can’t do this Lord.”  At Four-O-clock in the morning, I was awakened from a deep sleep. God’s spirit spoke to my spirit and said,  “Mel, get up and grab a pen and notebook and start writing”.  BUT, “Lord, it’s still dark”, and I dropped back to sleep. Again I heard that same voice again: “Get up and I will show you the way”. Well I was definitely awake by then and finally went to the kitchen table with pen and notebook and waited in “expectation of something”.  Three hours later, “Mercy on Trial” was down on paper, including a drawing of the set design and enough words for a three act play. I thank God that if it hadn’t been for my daughter-in-law, a formalized script would not have been completed. God had her call in mind to accomplish His calling. ALL we both had to do was to TRUST and LOVE Him for completion of His work through us. 

 

Leave a Reply

