DEVELOPING GOD’S LOVE (PART 2)

"Jesus Loves me this I know"

“JESUS LOVES ME!  this I know.  For the Bible tells me so;
Little ones to Him belong,  They are weak but He is strong.
 
JESUS, take this heart of mine,  Make it pure and wholly Thine;
On the cross You died for me,  I will try to live for thee.”
 
[Chorus]
 
Yes, Jesus loves me!  Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!  The Bible tells me so.”
 
 
Most of us remember that song, JESUS LOVES ME from when we were kids, learning the words for the first time in Church Sunday School Class.  Perhaps, in our lives today, we need to revisit our youth and find out if our love has matured or developed since those “good old days“.
 
“Endurance (fortitude) develops maturity of character (approved faith and tried integrity).  And character [of this sort] produces [the habit of] joyful and confident hope of eternal salvation.  Such hope never disappoints or deludes or shames us, for God’s love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy spirit Who has been given to us”  (Romans 5:4, 5 Amplified).
 
“A new heart will I give you and a new spirit will I put within you, and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you shall heed My ordinances and do them”  (Ezekiel 36:26, 27).
 
WE HAVE THE CAPACITY WITHIN US
 
“BUT I say, walk and live habitually in the [Holy] Spirit–responsive to and controlled by the Spirit; then you will certainly not gratify the cravings and desires of the flesh–of human nature without God”  (Gal. 5:16).
 
“BUT the fruit of the [Holy] Spirit, [the work which His presence within accomplishes]–is…”  (Gal. 5:22).
 
“And I will give them one heart–a new heart–and I will put a new spirit within them; and I will take the stoney [unnaturally hardened] heart out of their flesh, and will give them a heart of flesh [sensitive and responsive to the touch of their God]; [Ezek. 18:31; 36:26; II Cor. 3:3]   That they may walk in My statutes, and keep my ordinances, and do them. And they shall be My people, and I will be their God”  (Ezekiel 11:19, 20).
 
IF YOU ARE TRULY “BORN AGAIN”
 
When you accept Jesus as your Lord and Saviour; your are “born again” in your spirit.  God gives you a “heart transplant”; “a new heart”.  And with a new heart and a new spirit (Holy Spirit), your Love capacity is inside of you.  The manifestation might not be there but your capacity to love is present from within.  Speaking in tongues (Glossa); Acts 2:3, 4, is “a manifestation of what you already have when you were saved”.  So, the fruit of the Holy Spirit in Galatians might not be manifested in your life; not developed, not shown up, but the capacity is still there!
 
MARRIAGE SHOULD BE BASED ON AGAPE LOVE
 
Pre-nuptial agreements before marriage is nothing but a license for sex.  AGAPE type of love doesn’t have feelings, that’s “emotional love”.  God’s love is in your heart; been there all the time but not developed; and there is a difference between growing in love towards your spouse and developing love in your relationship.
 
Development needs; LOVE must be developed:
 
1.  Nutrition.
 
2.  Rest.
 
3.  Resistance or pressure.
 
PRESSURE or RESISTANCE
 
Doesn’t come from the enemy, it comes from the ones you love which in turn, effects your emotions.  Temptations are the reps in developing your love; they make you stronger.
 
THE “LOVE EXPERIENCE”
 
“Beloved, let us love one another; for love [springs] from God, and he who loves [his fellow-men] is begotten(born) of God and is coming (progressively–developing) to know  and understand God–to perceive and recognize and get a better and clearer knowledge of Him.  He who does not love has not become acquainted with God–does not and never did know Him; for GOD IS LOVE”  (1 John 4:7, 8).
 
The commandment of Jesus–God is love–is to love your neighbor and the ‘Law of Abundance’ is “LOVE”. 
1 John 4:13, 14; gives the evidence of death to life when you were born again of the spirit.
 
If you are finding yourself in a confrontational mindset; regarding an unfriendly neighbor or a brother or sister in the church, remind yourself of your spiritual development.  Remember that Agape love focusses on others and not “self”.  John 13:34, 35; God’s Word should remind you that if you don’t love your brothers and sisters in Christ, you are still in spiritual death!  I didn’t make up that, God’s Word says so.
 
A DEVELOPING EXERCISE METHOD IN GOD’S LOVE
 
 Every time you read the word God in the Scriptures, read it “God who is love”; all four words. 
 
EXAMPLES:  1 John 4:1-8 :
 
Verse 1;  “…try the spirits whether they are of  [God who is love]:”
 
Verse 2;  “…know ye the Spirit of [God who is love]…that comes in the flesh is of [God who is love]:”
 
I think you get the idea by the examples shown. Finish the rest of the verses by practicing and developing God’s Agape love.
 
“Jesus LOVES me this I know!  For the Bible tells me so!”
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

