Miracles, Signs and Wonders Are Alive!

“The Wonder Of It All”

Unless you people see miraculous signs and wonders,” Jesus told them, “you will never believe at all”  (John 4:48).

“Signs” are never pointed to themselves or the human performer!  Rather, they point to the Person; the Work of Christ.”  Let me get you started with Bible verses that attest to that thinking:  (Acts 2:4-12, 22, 43; 3:7-9; 11-12, 16; 4:30; 6:8; 14:3; 15:12; Romans 15:19; 2 Corinthians 12:4-12; Hebrews 2:4; 6:1-2).

There is a debate amongst many schools of thought between Christians.  Many say that miracles, signs and wonders have stopped.  Others say they are functioning today but are rare.  Others go overboard with manipulation, using electronic and magician tricks to seek and perform and captivate a crowd in “Jesus name.”

The Bible gives no indication that miracles, signs and wonders have stopped.  They may be rare but they are here and working praise God!

“On A Foggy Morning”

Almost a year ago (Feb. 11, 2011) I published a post entitled, “Getting Results in Prayer- A Foggy Day”.  It was a personal story of mine in Southern California 1979; about my experience on an early foggy morning.

I was a ‘long-distant’ commuter in those days.  I traveled from Poway to San Bernardino daily–95 miles one way!  I would leave the house no later than 6:15 AM and travel Interstate 15 all the way to my place of business.

One morning, it was unusually “foggy”.  So much so, even with headlights on, I couldn’t see any further than 20 feet in front of me or behind me.  And just ahead was the expected traffic light.  I knew it was there but seldom was it ever Red–STOP. 

As I pulled up and stopped, another vehicle pulled up beside me and came to a halt, both of us waiting patiently for the light to change green. 

And then, it happened.  I made a quick glance in the rear-view mirror while waiting and seeing nothing but two high-beamed headlights racing toward us both.  The on coming car obviously couldn’t see our tail lights or the red traffic signal aheadI tightly closed my eyes, preparing for impact and prayed out loud, “Jesus, keep us both safe!”  And then the miracle, the sign and wonder happened!  With approximately four feet between the two stopped cars, the oncoming vehicle drove between us and disappeared in the dense fog ahead, never slowing down.  I looked wide-eyed at the car stopped next to me and he looked back with the same expression on his face. 

The light turned green, but we both just sat there for a moment in amazement and maybe a little ‘shock’.  How did it happen and why didn’t a horrific accident not take place?  I believe to this day that it was a miracle and a sign.  And the driver that was next to me?  I don’t know but all I could say then and now, “Thank You Jesus for answered prayer and Your saving grace, the Miracle You performed today.”

Often, when we do see and experience miracles, signs and wonders, we become discerning, seeking scientific and psychological reasons–preventing us from jumping to conclusions to what ‘just happened.’  We don’t want to get ourselves into trouble or fall prey to shysters and manipulators. 

We need to recognized and trust in the words of an old hymn:

The Wonder of It All

There’s the wonder of sunset at evening,  The wonder as

sunrise I see But the wonder of wonders that thrills my soul

Is the wonder that God loves me.

O, the wonder of it all!

Written by–George Beverly Shea

Are Signs and Wonders–Miracles For Us Today?

YES!  It is often debated to the normalcy aspect; whether or not it still continues today in the church.  Some scholars propose that miracles are no longer a function of the church.  We’re just a part of “redemptive history.”

There isn’t Scriptural support for that position!  Miracles may be rare but to say they don’t exist today puts a limit on God’s sovereignty.  God has no limits; hence, why “process theology” (God is evolving, such as evolution), or “dispensationalism” (God is limited to time periods in history and contracts).  These theologies are not rooted in Scripture but only the minds of men.

Methods that are laid down for us ~

These methods are taught in the Book of Acts in your Bible.  They are as much for today’s believers as they were for that day.  I and others believe that God set down a pattern for us to follow this path.  It is a dependence upon His means and promotion of His ends.

Miracles have different accents:

— a “sign” is a miracle.

— a “wonder” is a miracle.

— a “miracle” is a miracle.

The miracle has the accent upon the power of the act.

The sign puts the accent; the pointing of the act; pointing to the word and His grace; pointing to His servants; pointing to Jesus!  It is sort of affirmation of the person, the message and the means and methods.

Then the wonder has to do with the effect of that the miracle on the observer.  They get into the wonder of it all. Be careful, you might miss it; the sunrise, the sunset, the wonder that God loves me!

So you see, they are All Miracles!

The Methods In Scripture of Advertising the Miraculous

“He Who supplies you with His marvelous [Holy] Spirit and works powerfully and miraculously among you do so on [the grounds of your doing] what the Law demands, or because of your believing in and adhering to and trusting in and relying on the message that you heard”       (Galatians 3:5 AMP).

Do you know what we need to do?  We need to pray and say,  “God, sharpen my spiritual ears.” 

God, get the sin of the world out of my ears so that I might have a better spiritual hearing!  Because if miracles take place by the hearing of faith, then give me the faith that hears.

I want to take you to some scriptures I found in investigation of the truth; to show you how much God put miracles, signs and wonders in the evangelism of the Bible.

“For [of course] I will not venture (presume) to speak thus of any work except what Christ has actually done through me [as an instrument of His hands] to win obedience from the Gentiles [nonbelievers], by word and deed”  [19] “[Even as my preaching has been accompanied] with the power of signs and wonders, [and all of it] by the power of the Holy Spirit. [The result is] that starting from Jerusalem and as far round as Illyricum, I have fully preached the Gospel [faithfully executing, accomplishing, carrying out to the full the good news] of Christ (the Messiah) in its entirety”  (Romans 15:18-19 AMP).

Paul constantly says, “my Gospel was not in word only,” and he tells us about this deed in verse 19I decided to do some further research on the verses I quoted in the Letter of Paul to the Romans.  I did so to see if I could find what the words contained in verses 18 and 19 are actually saying to me.  My conclusion results: there is a partial gospel and there is a full gospel.  If you want to preach the full gospel you can’t divorce it from miracles, signs and wonders: “I have fully preached the Gospel of Christ.”

So, if you want to fully preach it–it’s through miracles, signs and wonders bythe Power of the Holy Spirit!  We want the power of God; we don’t want to separate the spirit and the word.  We want God, through His Spirit, working with and in us.

Getting Our attention inActs 2:22

“You men…, listen to what I have to say:  Jesus of Nazareth, a Man accredited and pointed out and shown forth and commended and attested to you by God by the mighty works and [the power of performing] wonders and signs which God worked through Him [right] in your midst.”

Jesus of Nazareth, a Man accredited (approved) by God in your midst.”   You have heard of schools that were accredited and non-accredited.  But Jesus was accredited with miracles, signs and wonders in the middle of the people around Him; where He was preaching the Gospel.  God put His stamp of approval on Jesus by the signs, wonders and miracles.  Should we as believers in Jesus have the same opportunity today?

Jesus said, “Greater works shall you do because I go to my Father.”  Now I’m not saying I have it all but I am certainly open to what God has for me.  I admit the need, I admit that I need more, the anointing of the spirit; I need more of God working through me by His Spirit.

I believe that the church today needs to go back to the patterns of the church of Acts 2:22; not a churches denomination or doctrine or a Pastor who has dreamed up and developed a plan with their own traditions and misunderstandings of God’s Word.

The human body has an “outer ear” and an “inner ear”.  What we hear in the pastor’s message in church, we initially hear with the outer ear; the logos word.  What we need to hear more often is the rhema word; the words we hear with our inner ear, from the Spirit of the living God.  If we do, we will see more miraculous, more manifested presence of God, more conviction of sin and more things that cause people to fear God in a good way.

Jesus Didn’t Go to the University of Jerusalem!

Jesus didn’t get his accreditation from school or membership in the local church.  He didn’t say, “See the sheep skin I have on the wall.”  He didn’t go up to someone being possessed by demons, “In the name of the Alma Mater of the University of Jerusalem, come out!”  It didn’t work that way then and it doesn’t work that way today.  God backed Him and He is still backing His adopted sons and daughters today.

The disciples and the town folk that day were amazed and even the spirits obeyed His voice.  And so it was the miraculous signs that began to spread in the land and is also spread throughout the Bible to show the importance of miracles, signs and wonders.  How we can ignore the evidences in God’s Word I don’t know.

The writer of The Letter to The Hebrews takes the thought even further:

“[Besides this evidence] it was also established and plainly endorsed by God, Who showed His approval of it by signs and wonders and various miraculous manifestations of [His] power and by imparting the gifts of the Holy Spirit [to the believers–you and I] according to His own will”  (Hebrews 2:4 AMP–my addition; you and I).

Scholars who ignore the power imparted to the church today by the gifts of the Holy Spirit are missing the importance of the rhema word; the Holy Spirits whispering in the inner ear.  They separate the logos from the rhema.  It just doesn’t work in that way.

Are you still in doubt of your God-given authority?

“And these attesting signs will accompany those who believe: In My name they will drive out demons; they will speak in new languages”  (Mark 16:17)  [verse 20]  “And they went out and preached everywhere, while the Lord kept working with them and confirming the message by the attesting signs and miracles that closely accompanied [it]. Amen (so be it).

I don’t know about you, but I want to be a believer like is described here; that these signs might follow me as I go out!

Then in verse 19:

“So then the Lord Jesus, after He had spoken to them, was taken up into heaven and He sat down at the right hand of God.”

Come on Church…the people who heard Jesus when He raised His hands and blessed them is still confirming it today right where you are living; with Miracles, Signs and Wonders as we go out to preach the Gospel.  That is Church Evangelism Father.  He gave us the power as believers to perform miracles, signs and wonders through the gifting of the Holy Spirit.



One thought on “Miracles, Signs and Wonders Are Alive!

  1. I don’t even think they are that rare. We just don’t have the eyes to see them or we rationalize that the person who DOES experience them is a bit radical. Call me radical because I believe that anything can happen and God gives us the POWER to DO miracles and wonders also. We need the faith to SEE. I took part in many of them while in Honduras! Good stuff here Mel!

Leave a Reply

