Bon Appetit!

EATING FOOD WITH NUTRITIONAL BENEFITS:

“IS HONEY BAD FOR YOU, OR GOOD? The Sweet Truth Revealed [Facts from Authority Nutrition – January 16th, 2013 by Kris Gunnars.]

Taste of HONEY

Taste of HONEY 

According to nutritional data, a typical batch of HONEY supplies:

 82% sugar, by weight.

–  Half of sugar (40% of total weight) is fructose.

–  Contains only trace amounts of vitamins and minerals. 

–  HONEY contains various antioxidants (helps prevent diseases and sickness).

Well, we now have the nutritional evidence of HONEY,  but is there something else we can replace the TASTE OF HONEY to our palates?  Something that taste sweet, with an antioxidant benefit, but without the fructose sugar after taste.  I think I might have found the answer.

Eating Your Words…”Speak Sweetly!”

“Speak Sweetly!  So that, if ever you have to eat your words, they don’t taste bad”  [Quote from an unknown author.].

OH BOY…DESSERT IS ON THE TABLE AND IT CAN BE NUTRITIOUS:

After you’ve enjoyed a delicious meal, there is one more thing to look forward to–DESSERT!  Over the years of attending Church potlucks (I like the word “Pot-faith” better), I’ve enjoyed observing people going through the serve-yourself-line.

Some people must have eaten at home before they came, because they seem to take such small portions.  I’m sure that’s how they eat at home…like birds.

But in being kind, I’m not referring to these people as models.  It appears that their main interest for being there is simply…THE DESSERT TABLE!  As soon as they see the dessert table open for business…they are usually the first in line to grab the SWEET GOODIES.

“Dessert Is Now Being Served!”

In the BIBLE we read of the sweet taste of honey for the one who loves to dig deep into GOD’s Word–“grab the sweet goodies”.

Psalm 19:9-14 [Amplified Bible]:

[9 b.]  …the ordinances of the Lord are true and righteous.  [10] More to be desired are they than gold, even than much fine gold; they are sweeter also than honey and drippings from the honeycomb.  [11] Moreover, by them is Your servant, warned (reminded, illuminated, and instructed); and in keeping them there is great reward.  [12] Who can discern his lapses and errors?  Clear me from hidden [and unconscious] faults.  [13] Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me!  Then I shall be blameless, and I shall be innocent and clear of great transgression.  [14] Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my [firm, impenetrable] Rock and my Redeemer.

Psalm 119:101-105 [Amplified Bible]:

[101] I have restrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep Your word [hearing, receiving, loving, and obeying it].  [102] I have not turned aside from Your ordinances, for You Yourself have taught me.  [103] How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth.  [104] Through Your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.  [105] Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.

Ezekiel 3:1-4; 10 [Amplified Bible]:

[1] HE SAID to me, Son of man, eat what you find [in this book]; eat this scroll; then go and speak to the house of Israel.  [2] So I opened my mouth, and He caused me to eat the scroll.  [3] And He said to me, Son of man, eat this scroll that I give you and fill your stomach with it.  Then I ate it, and it was as sweet as honey in my mouth.  [4] And He said to me, Son of man, go, get you to the house of Israel and speak to them with My words.  [10] Moreover, He said to me, Son of man, ALL My words that I shall speak to you, receive in your heart and hear with your ears.

PSALM 119 is the longest chapter found in Scripture and it is known for its teaching of GOD’s Law.  Not simply about what to do or not do, but how GOD’s Word leads us into a deeper relationship with Him.

VERSE 103 says, THE WORDS OF GOD are “sweeter than honey”.

I have already mentioned, that HONEY is known to have ANTIOXIDANTS; and antioxidants in our body, fights diseases and even heals wounds.

And like HONEY, the Word of God provides good nourishment and substance to our souls:

“As for you, son of man, hear what I say to you; be not rebellious like that rebellious house; open your mouth and eat what I give you [His Word].  And when I looked, behold. a hand was stretched out to me and behold, a scroll of a book was in it.  And He spread it before me and it was written within and on the back, and written on it were words of lamentation and mourning and woe”  (Ezekiel  2:8-10).

JESUS SAID TO THE DEVIL…“It has been written,  Man shall not live and be upheld and sustained by bread alone,  but by every word that comes forth from the mouth of God”  (Matthew 4:4).

Ephesians 6:17-18:

[17] And take the helmet of salvation…the sword that the Spirit wields, which is the Word of God.  [18] Pray at all times (on every occasion, in every season) in the Spirit, with all [manner of] prayer and entreaty.  To that end keep alert and watch with strong purpose and perseverance, interceding in behalf of all the saints.

To RECEIVE the Word is to EAT the Word, and the way we eat the Word is “by means of ALL prayer and petition,” as illustrated in the Christian Testimonies section found at www.prayready.org/eating-the-word-of-God/.

The BENEFITS Given of “Eating” versus “Finding” the Word…

James Gray says, “there’s a great difference between finding the Word of God in your Bible and eating it; and it is the man who eats that gets the benefit out of it!”  Of course, we have to know where the HONEY is found, but unless we eat it, the benefits won’t be enjoyed.

When you go to your doctor because you’re physically out of sorts, the doctor writes you a prescription to get rid of the sickness.  He mentions that you are to take the pills each day and after 30 days, return for an evaluation.

Get the Prescription Filled and Follow the Directions Given–

When you return to the doctor as instructed, he asks you, “How are you feeling now?”  You look at him with disgust and say, “I feel worse today than I did thirty days ago.”  “Did you get the prescription filled and take all the pills?” he asks.  After a long pause and a head hung low, you inform him “I decided that I didn’t really NEED any pills, and never had your prescription filled.”  You knew of the BENEFITS of the prescribed cure, but you chose to ignore the instructions of the doctor.

REMEMBER, GOD IS THE GREAT PHYSICIAN! ~ Matthew 13:15; John 12:40; Acts 28:27;Hebrews 12:13.

Our Taste Buds…

Since your taste buds are found on the tongue, and according to some foodies… sweetness is often the last sensitivity…the one that seems to hang on the longest as we get older [70+ years for me!].  I sometimes take a bite of Strawberry Shortcake with Whipped Cream held on a fork…looking intently and with a smile…hold it in my mouth to savor the sweet taste, all before ingesting the dessert.  It takes me back to my early childhood…memories of family fun times…picking strawberries on farms and smelling the fragrance of the fruit in the air.  All these feelings from a look, a taste before I swallow the treat.

The Importance of Being A “Bible Bee” in Life…You Are Constantly Searching for the Nectar–

When your words came, I ate them; they were my joy and my heart’s delight, for I bear your name, O Lord God Almighty ~ Jeremiah 15:16.

Bon Appetit

Bon Appetit

GOD’s Word was welcomed as food to a hungry man and Jeremiah cheerfully RECEIVED them…treasured them up to his memory…digested them to his mind where he carefully retained them…the Word of God, not men.

Under the ministry of the Holy Spirit, FOOD FOR OUR SOULS IS:

– Sweeter than honey.

– Wholesome.

– Nourishing.

– Strengthening.

The words not merely HEARD EXTERNALLY, or SUPERFICIALLY TASTED OF, but when eaten, as Ezekiel’s roll was by him; which was done in FAITH, which receives, feeds and digests THE WORD; for, unless it is mixed with FAITH, the nutritional value is lost in translation.

GUT CHECK TIME: “We Are What We Eat…”

And what you eat…is what you daily read and study.  In his book – Your God Is Too Safe – Mark Buchanan describes STUDY this way:

“Study is ingesting and digesting, the chewing and swallowing and being filled with ideas, images, thoughts and attitudes.  To browse an idea, to skim it and dabble in it–that’s like getting a whiff of food, maybe a faint taste on the tongue.  BUT to study:  to really plunge in the depth of a thing, to interrogate it and allow it to interrogate you, to probe it and be probed by it–that’s STUDY…that’s EATING!

I don’t know about you, but I am willing and able to dive in to the HONEY! No artificial sweetener, no more ‘milk toast’ for me; milk toast is for babies not for spiritually mature adults.

Is there bad tastes in your mouth right now?  “Oh Yuk!”

Although I love Brussel Sprouts now, as a youngster…“Oh yuk!” But HONEY…loved as a child growing up and still love the taste!  I can almost taste the Sage Honey or Orange blossom Honey on the breakfast table before me, that was spread over my mother’s home-made Biscuits on Sunday mornings.  The smell of the food was one thing, but the taste…oh the taste of that HONEY…and now, the desire I have for God’s Word is something I look forward to every morning in eating.

Dripping from the HONEYCOMB

Dripping from the HONEYCOMB

So, Bon Appetit!

Start Enjoying and Devouring the WORD OF GOD!

6 thoughts on “Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

