The “PERFECT HATE” Point-of-View

Psalm 139:19-22 (AMP):

[19]  If You would [only] slay the wicked, O God, and the men of blood depart from me–

[20]  Who speak against You wickedly, Your enemies who take Your name in vain!

[21]  Do I not hate them, O Lord, who hate you?  And am I not grieved and do I not loathe those who rise up against You?

[22]  I hate them with perfect hatred; they have become my enemies. 

To do a study on the theme of PERFECT HATE, I had to ask myself definitive questions before beginning:

1.  WHAT IS “PERFECT HATRED”?

2.  WHO AND WHAT SHOULD WE HATE AS TRUE BELIEVERS OF JESUS?

3.  WHY SHOULD WE HATE?

4.  WHAT IS THE NATURE OF WHOLESOME, PERFECT HATRED?

5.  DO WE HAVE IT?

6.  HOW CAN WE CULTIVATE IT?

IS “HATRED” ONLY FOUND IN THE PSALMIST?

God Himself claims He HATES the wicked:

“The arrogant cannot stand in your presence; you hate all who do wrong”  (Psalm 5:5 NIV).

You might be thinking to yourself, “Yeah, but that OLD TESTAMENT!  How about Scripture from the NEW TESTAMENT?”  If that’s what you’re thinking, let me point to you what God says in The Book of Revelation:

[6] Yet you have this–in your favor and to your credit–you hate the works [the “deeds”] of the Nicolaitans [what they are doing as corrupters of the people], which I Myself also detest (hate).  [15] You also have some who in a similar way are clinging to the teaching of the Nicolaitans [those corrupters of the people], which thing I hate.” ~ Revelation 2:6, 15 AMP.

GOD HATES SIN…the Doctrine promoted by the wicked!

Who are the “wicked” Nicolaitans?  According to Harper’s Bible Dictionary, the Nicolaitans (ni-koh-lay’i-tahns), were a religious sect in Ephesus and Pergamum whose members made it a practice of eating food sacrificed to idols and for sexual license.  In other words, the idea to get across to other church members, was the perpetual...”It’s okay! Things are changing in the world and everybody has accepted these practices as a new standard in society.”  

BUT…does GOD HATE the “doer” of the deeds?  And what does the word HATE actually mean?

THE WORD “HATE”:

The word HATE is a strong word.  In the Greek language, the word is miseo, means to hate, abhor, or to find utterly repulsive.  It describes a person who has a deep-seated animosity, antagonistic to something or someone who he finds to be completely objectionable.  Not only does one loathe that object, but rejects it entirely.  This isn’t a case of DISLIKE; it’s a case of actual hatred.

“If GOD Hates something…then so do I” –

“Every good thing bestowed and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation, or shifting shadow”  (James 1:17 NAS).

GOD also commands us to HATE the sinfulness of this world”:

“[Strive to] save others, snatching [them] out of [the] fire; on others take pity [but] with fear, loathing even the garment spotted by the flesh and polluted by their sensuality”  (Jude 23 AMP).

EVERY TRACE of wickedness of this world should be an abomination to us.

WE ARE TO HATE…YET WE ARE TO HAVE A DEEP-SEATED LOVE:

“God So LOVED the World that…”

Does our sense of WRONG proceed from LOVE?  Does our disapproval of any evil express LOVE?  Is there a HATRED that we should avoid as Christians?

8432828-opened-magic-book-with-magic-lightLets go to the WORD of GOD for some answers:

Anyone who hates (abominate, detests) his brother [in Christ] is [at heart] a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding (persevering) within him  (1 John 3:15 AMP).

Works or doings of the flesh (human nature without God), found in Galatians 5:19-21,  are not only listed by the apostle but he point-blank mentions “those who do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God” (verse 21).

THERE IS “RIGHTEOUS LOVE”/”WICKED LOVE”:

We all know that bible verse found in John 3:16.  But does our sense of WRONG proceed from LOVE?  Does our disapproval of any evil express our inward LOVE?

The Perfect UNVALENTINE:

LOVE or HATRED Displayed

LOVE or HATRED Displayed

I can remember when I was in elementary school many years ago on Valentine’s Day, we were to exchange Valentine cards to every fellow student.  My mom would sit down with me at the kitchen table and asked me to decide which cards would go to each individual.

Now it became evident, that the heart cards…the ones that said “I LOVE YOU” would go to special individuals.  Okay, special girls in my classroom.  But when it came to certain individuals, my feelings were much different.  I would ask my mom, “Do I have to give them a Valentine’s card?  Can’t I just give a UN VALENTINE’s card?”  My mother’s explanation to a child, who based their entire life on feelings, good or bad, like or dislike, that everyone would receive a VALENTINE CARD!  There wasn’t such a thing as a UNVALENTINE CARD, so I went along with mom’s suggestion–love it or hate it!

“Love for God and Righteousness is godly, Love for the World is Ungodly” (Tim Hayes)–

“Do not LOVE or CHERISH the world or the things that are in the world.  If anyone LOVES THE WORLD, love for the Father is not in him”  (1 John 2:15).

“O you who LOVE the Lord, HATE evil; He preserves the lives of His saints (the children of God), He delivers them out of the hand of the wicked”  (Psalm 97:10).

“The reverent fear and worshipful awe of the Lord [includes] the HATRED of evil…”  (Proverbs *:13).

“The opposite then of LOVE is not HATE…the opposite of both HATE and LOVE is APATHY”  (Tim Hayes)–

“Caring intensely is both LOVE & HATE; the opposite of caring intensely is not caring at all”… and can be an apathetic heart.

GOD HATES THE NATURE OF SINNERS: 

God hates the nature of sinners because He cares about the obedience and the holiness on His creation.  He HATES the way they respond to the world; the very fabric of what they do, why they do it, and how they think.

The HEART ISSUE Comes Into play…

A SELFISH and WICKED HEART hates a man–seeks to destroy him in deed or with words.  Whereas a RIGHTEOUS HEART hates and man seeks his welfare.

What makes HATRED right or wrong is the heart that it springs from, not the hatred or love in and of itself.

THINGS WE SHOULD HATE WITH “Perfect Hate”:

I’m not going to look at what man says “perfect hatred” is or isn’t.  I’m going to search out then answers from God’s Word…the truth of the matter in what we should HATE:

Psalm 101:3 – “I will set no base or wicked thing before my eyes.  I hate the work of them who turn aside [from the right path]; it shall not grasp hold of me.”

Psalm 119:113 – I hate the thoughts of undecided [in religion], double-minded people, but Your law do I love.”

Psalm 119:163 – I hate and abhor falsehood, but Your law do I love.”

Psalm 139:21 – “Do I not hate them O Lord, who hate You?  And am I not grieved and do I not loathe those who rise up against You?

1.  LOVE others by sincerely seeking their welfare…as you LOVE, you HATE.

2.  HATE everything about the wicked…that comprises them, makes them tick, counting them your enemies while hating even the garment spotted by the flesh (Jude 23).

3.  SEEK NOT the lukewarm, “the middle ground” of sinfulness, for that is APATHY.  For GOD will spew (“throw-up”) you out (Revelation 3:16).

4.  RETURN to your FIRST LOVE…and your PERFECT HATRED, as Jesus speaks to the Church at Ephesus:

Revelation 2:4-6 Amplified Bible–

BUT I have this [one charge to make] against you; that you have left (abandoned) the LOVE that you had at first [you have deserted Me, your first love].  REMEMBER then from what heights you have fallen. Repent (change the inner man to meet God’s will) and do the works you did previously [when first you knew the Lord], or else I will visit you and remove you lampstand from its place, unless you change your mind and repent.  Yet you have this [in your favor and to your credit]: you HATE the WORKS of the Nicolaitans [what they are doing as corrupters of the people], which I Myself detest.

Does Our HATRED Correspond from Our Hearts?

If we HATE without the LOVE grounded in our hearts, then it can’t be “perfect hate”.  

Our response to the HATE ISSUE in our theology, should underly God’s PERFECT HATE.  It should rest on two specific qualities:

1.  HOLINESS.

2.  JUSTICE.

So you and I…and all humanity, may choose to follow in God’s standards; hating anything that hates our Lord and Savior or His standards, set down in His Word–Scripture.

Our response?

As God’s children, we need to mirror our Father’s attitudes toward evil and evil doers (Psalm 26:5), idolaters (Psalm 31:6), the “false way” (Psalm 119:104), falsehood…double-minded people (Psalm 119:113).

Our prayer, when in doubt of showing HATRED in our life–“Is it really PERFECT HATE?”– should be as the psalmist:

Psalm 139:23, 24:

“Search me [throughly], O God, and know my heart!  Try me and know my thoughts!  And see if there is any wicked or hurtful [*uncaring] way in me in the way everlasting.”  – *(my word).

 

3 thoughts on “The “PERFECT HATE” Point-of-View

  1. I hope we are as passionate in our love for God at the end of our race as we were in the beginning. I hope the unkindness and darkness in the world does not taint our souls and that our hearts burn with the blazing love of the Father. May it be that we truly are known by our love.

Leave a Reply

