God’s RESUME for His Disciples–That’s Us!

I ran across an example of a RESUME in my studies this week, to preface a biblical study in Psalms:

Resumes of Apostles

To: Jesus, Son of Joseph

Woodcrafter’s Carpenter Shop

Nazareth 25922

From: Jordan Management Consultants

Dear Sir:

Thank you for submitting the resumes of the twelve men you have picked for managerial positions in your new organization.  All of them have now taken our battery of tests; and we have not only run the results through our computer, but also arranged personal interviews for each of them with our psychologist and vocational aptitude consultant.

The profiles of all tests are included, and you will want to study each of them carefully.

As part of our service, we make some general comments for your guidance, much as an auditor will include some general statements. This is given as a result of staff consultation, and comes without any additional fee.

It is our staff opinion that most of your nominees are lacking in background, education and vocational aptitude for the type of enterprise you are undertaking. They do not have the team concept. We would recommend that you continue your search for persons of experience in managerial ability and proven capability.

Simon Peter is emotionally unstable and given to fits of temper. Andrew has absolutely no qualities of leadership. The two brothers, James and John, the sons of Zebedee, place personal interest above company loyalty. Thomas demonstrates a questioning attitude that would tend to undermine morale. We feel that it is our duty to tell you that Matthew had been blacklisted by the Greater Jerusalem Better Business Bureau; James, the son of Alpheus, and Thaddeus definitely have radical leanings, and they both registered a high score on the manic-depressive scale.

One of the candidates, however, shows great potential. He is a man of ability and resourcefulness, meets people well, has a keen business mind, and has contacts in high places. He is highly motivated, ambitious, and responsible. We recommend Judas Iscariot as your controller and right-hand man. All of the other profiles are self-explanatory.

We wish you every success in your new venture.

Sincerely,

Jordan Management Consultants

 

Psalm 32:7 Google Images

Psalm 32:7 Courtesy of Google Images

 

TEXT for this Blog –  PSALM 32:7-8 The Message (MSG):

7    “God’s my island hideaway, keeps danger far from the shore, throws garlands of hosannas around my neck.”

8    “Let me give you some good advice; I’m looking you in the eye and giving it to you straight.”

 

THE “PROVERBIAL” RESUME–A Important Document:

Preparing A RESUME

Preparing A RESUME

The online encyclopedia Wikipedia.org defines a RESUME as a document containing a summary or listing of relevant job experience and evaluation, usually for obtaining an interview for seeking employment.

It is an important document that I learned to formulate over my work career, as it usually is the first item a potential employer encounters regarding a job seeker.

A RESUME is a biography of a person’s professional life, where the individual worked, lived and describes who that person is.

A RESUME is not a document that one can create just once and never update.  As you gain new experience and learning, you must update your resume regularly in keeping it fresh.

What has all this information to do with GOD?

God Communicates His Role In Your Life–To DECLARE and ASSURE US:

Psalm 32:8 The Amplified Bible (AMP)

“I [the Lord] will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.”

In this verse, God declares the things He will perform in our lives; IF…we let Him.

He declares He will INSTRUCT US; which implies that sometimes He will provide direction He expects us to follow, unquestionably.

He will TEACH US; implying that sometimes He will help us to understand the meaning of His decisions and actions in our lives.

He ASSURES US that He will give us godly wisdom.

Also, God assures us that sometimes we will step out on our own, but He will be there to give us advice when we ask Him.

Finally, God declares He will watch over us–God has your back.  We have nothing to be afraid of because God is watching over us.

God’s RESUME in Your Life and Mine:

Facing challenges in your life, when the outcome seems uncertain or not what you expected, DOUBT keeps close company with FEAR and ANXIETY.  Together they can bring DESPAIR into our lives and can cause our FAITH IN GOD to slide.

My Personal Story–A Dream Come True…or so I thought!

In 1980, I was a branch manager of a large West Coast Wholesale Plumbing Supply company.  I had worked hard for ten long years; then finally promoted from inside sales to office manager.  And now, my career dream had come true.

My DREAM was to move my young family out of their over crowded schools, quick-paced lifestyle of California, and move to a place in the country where our family could spread our wings in the clean air.  It was “my dream” for the family.

In reality, I was going to be transferred to the great Northwest.  Home of the wild bald eagle, great conifer forests, magnificent snow-capped mountains, the Evergreen State.  Although, my kids were not as enthusiastic about “the DREAM as I was(my wife wasn’t exactly overjoyed either!).  The thought of leaving old school chums, Christian brothers and sisters,  and both our parents–“pop-pops” and grandmas– was a bit much in their lives at the time.

My Wife and I PRAYED, FELT AT PEACE and LEFT it behind…

And then, three years after our replanting roots from California to the state of Washington, the company where I had been employed for over 15 years was sold–lock, stock, and barrel.  My office was to be someone elses, my title was removed and placed upon another.  It can be lonely; looking from the outside in.

I decided to stay on with the new company, not as branch manager, but as inside sales.  That decision didn’t last long and in 1985, my employment came to an end.

I was angry at one moment, sad and despondent the next.  Here I was, living in an DREAM area of the country that I wasn’t familiar with; a family who loved the “greenness” and the space of the new home (1-3/4 acres).   But they still missed their old friends, old church, and the grandparents.  What was I going to do, how could we pay the mortgage…?  Could I really cast all my cares on Jesus in the midst?

My wife and I had prayed over the decision to move, but had I been so anxious, so fixed on God’s decision to say “YES”– I didn’t have the patience to wait for a clear answer.  Well, it was too late to turn back to where I had started.  The family was in the Seattle area, I was unemployed, and it was time to start working on a RESUME.  I hadn’t prepared one for years!

God Began A Good Work…

One evening, while drafting my past work experiences, my job credits, my references… the phone rang.  It was from an old work associate and friend who was now an area manager of a local competitor.

“Hey Mel, I just heard you lost your job.”  I thought, how could he have heard of my misfortune already?  Was this a godly answer to an unspoken prayer?  A prayer that maybe, just maybe, had rushed the decision making process of the past and moved ahead of God’s plan?

When I received the call from John, I had told no one except my wife of the unemployment situation, not even our kids knew at this point.  As the conversation went on, John said:  “Mel, something has come up in regards to a job opportunity out-of-state and your name was mentioned.  Would you be interested in moving once more?”  

My first reaction was NO!  My second reaction was WHERE?  His response almost took my breath away– “HAWAII”?

God's Work or Mine?

God’s Work or Mine?

He went on to say he had discussed my job experiences with the president of the company Hawaii, but a RESUME was still needed, then if it was acceptable, they would fly me to Honolulu and discuss all the particulars of the job.

I tried to keep my excitement of working in “paradise” to a minimum over the phone, and said I would get back to him after talking it over with my wife.  I wasn’t going to make the same decision of moving again without hearing a clear answer from God.  Not this time!

FULFILLED PROMISES OR BROKEN DREAMS…

Have you ever felt God’s promises in your life seem unfulfilled when you needed them the most?  The fulfilled promises for Abraham, Elijah, Job and Jeremiah were great in their time, but seems like they don’t translate in your situation.

The “IF ONLY’s”…

If only there was a simple way to know how God delivered on His promises in my life, NOT for David and Solomon…NOT for Paul and Timothy…but for ME!

God’s RESUME reflects on His presence in our lives.  

It is a DOCUMENT which you create; contains a chronological summary or listing relevant to experiences in your life; through which God was working to INSTRUCT, to TEACH, to COUNSEL and to WATCH over you (Psalm 32:8).

The sole purpose of developing God’s RESUME is to strengthen your FAITH in Him.  Documenting His resume in your life is an act of PRAISE and WORSHIP that demonstrates to God, you have acknowledged His goodness and mercy towards you.

Creating and maintaining a RESUME of God’s presence in your life, builds FAITH in Him through experiences gained, and at the same time, illustrates your Christian growth–your spiritual maturity.

The Book of Psalms Gives Us Guidelines for the RESUME…

In the Book of Psalms, David penned God’s RESUME in his life.  In doing so, the Psalms show us how God instructed, taught, counseled and watched over David all his life, while they illustrate his Christian-like growth and maturity over time.

When I was notified by a business friend of the possibilities of a new job, I immediately sat down to update my resume and get it off to the  possible new employer.  Unfortunately, my only guide was stored in memory; past accomplishments, titles, job responsibilities, etc.  I had neglected to update my work-life changes in writing; I felt I didn’t need too.  I had been employed for over fifteen years with the same company.

I began to pray over the blank piece of paper, giving thanks to God for His leading a future employer; how He watched over my life, my family in the process.

As I prayed, my confidence grew, my faith increased and the Holy Spirit took away any doubt that this new experience was going to be the RIGHT DECISION.

Did I get the JOB?  Yes.  How did God’s plan play out in my life?  That’s a whole different and amazing story I’ll share in another blog-post

How to Create and Maintain God’s RESUME:

In sharing my own personal life experience, I  discovered some practical guidelines in updating God’s Resume in my life and your life.

It isn’t a complete list, but something to get you started.  I found these practical ideas at CareerJournal.com; they are only GUIDELINES and not commandments.  It is your experiences with God, so use whatever you are comfortable with:

pizap.com10.54310619365423921365338772619

GUIDELINES – (See Footnotes for referenced source):

#1.  DEFINE AN OBJECTIVE–

Be specific and concise.  Example: “To increase my faith in God by reviewing His goodness and mercies in my life.”

#2.  USE A CHRONOLOGICAL FORMAT–

Begin with the most recent experience or situation where God instructed, taught, counseled or protected you.  As best as you could recall, make a note of the date of the event or experience.

#3.  FOCUS ON GOD’S ACCOMPLISHMENTS–

Ask your self, “How did I recognize God instructing me?” and “What did He do in my life that I want other people to know about; so they can be encouraged.”  [I gave my personal story on how God directed a new employer my way.]

#4.  USE DESCRIPTIVE VERBS–

Describe your experiences using phrases that contain a past-tense action word.

Example:  “Two months earlier, God led me to write an article; a blog on coping with job loss for others to read.  When I lost my job, I was able to use those same guidelines.”

#5.  KEEP THE RESUME UPDATED–

Update God’s RESUME in your life with new experiences and situations as they occur.  Some use a Daily Diary, Blackberry, etc. I use a large Mason Jar with Post-Its inside, of God’s blessings in my life… then review them at the end of the year to recognize how I have experienced Christian growth over time.

#6.  DON’T FOCUS ONLY ON THE DRAMATIC EVENTS–

Note the small events as well since God works in mysterious ways.

GOD BEGAN A GOOD WORK IN YOU–So Get Ready!

stock-photo-hand-writing-what-s-next-with-black-marker-on-transparent-wipe-board-188035769Don’t limit yourself to any specific number of pages for the RESUME.

God began to work in you the moment you took your first breath, in fact, He initiated that process.  He didn’t start working in your life only when you became a Christian; God was working all along to bring you to Him.  He doesn’t stop working in your life when you discover Him.

God’s Resume in your life ceases to expand when you die, but even then, your experiences can be beneficial to others.

If you choose to share it with others, it may be passed on from generation to generation in your family.  However, it may be so personal to you that you choose not to share it.  REMEMBER, this RESUME is between you and God.

I encourage you, as I have been encouraged, to develop God’s RESUME in your life.  It has certainly helped me to reinforce my mind that all through my life God has been diligently working on my behalf and your behalf– to enrich your FAITH in His leadership.  So let’s get started!


Footnotes and Credits:

“GUIDELINES” – Taken from a series: “How God Instructs, Teaches, Counsels and Watches Over You” by Christopher Sealey.

“RESUME FOR APOSTLES” – Bible.org Published Feb. 2nd, 2009 [bible.org/illustration/resumes-apostles

PHOTO CREDITS:

Photo Pin and Google Images.

BIBLE TRANSLATIONS:

The MESSAGE and the Amplified Bible.

 

 

 

One thought on “God’s RESUME for His Disciples–That’s Us!

Leave a Reply

