Crippled In His Feet, Able In His Mind

.Many of us say we are living by FAITH.  But we are not getting Faith results.  

We say to ourselves and to other Christians around us that we are living by FAITH and when we PRAY the reason for our prayers, things remain unchanged.  Could it be, just maybe,  we’ve been taught a Faith is nothing more than simply believing God to take care of things while we sit back and wait?  Could it be that we’ve been taught a Faith that means we take our needs, both physical and mental to God and because He’s in control let Him decide whether or not He will help us?

We’re going to look at Scripture and see whose FAITH really matters.  And I hope you’ll see and understand as I have in the study, that when we PRAY, we are not waiting for God to answer us.  He is waiting for our FAITH.

ACTS 14:8-11

Many of us read and hear the words in the Bible BUT…WE NEVER TRULY LIVE the Bible.

When we don’t LIVE what we read and hear God’s Word daily we can find ourselves in a space of UNBELIEF that separates us from FAITH that receives the “rewards of faith.” But so many of us do!  That’s right, “REWARDS”.

As we HEAR and OBEY the Word of God, we slowly close the space of unbelief that separates us from FAITH that will bring the rewards!

GOD REWARDS FAITH WITH HIS PROMISES

“And without FAITH it is impossible to please God because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he REWARDS those who earnestly seek him”  (Hebrews 11:6 – NIV).

Okay, so, the WORD says FAITH pleases God and that He rewards those who have A LIFESTYLE OF FAITH.

So I want to closely look at the testimony of a man in ACTS 14

SETTING:  The Region of Lystra.  A region bursting with Greek Mythology/Roman “2 gods” beliefs.

In this region,  “there sat a man who was lame [crippled[ from birth and had never walked”  (Acts 14:8)

And sometimes, do we think about physical ailments way too much?  Think again!

God’s finest creation/MAN–created to be agile and mobile.

So here we have before us the Creation of God who SAT–going nowhere because he was crippled in the feet:

  • The AREA that should have undergirded him.
  • The AREA that should have supported him.
  • The AREA that should have served as his foundation–FAILED HIM.

Not because he didn’t want to or believed he couldn’t move, but rather because he was in this state from birth.

In other words at no fault of his–because of his predicament, he was STUCK IN A RUT, do to no fault of his own.

BEING STUCK IN A RUT–

  • Because touched inappropriately;
  • Spoken disparaging–discouraging words.
  • Experience–never experienced.

Such A Debilitating Beginning –

Never had he walked, but he BELIEVED he could one day, walk by FAITH.  This man, while crippled in his feet, was a man not crippled in his mind.

I might add here that a deficiency in one area does not constitute an excuse in another area.  CRIPPLED IN HIS FEET, ABLE IN HIS MIND! 

VERSE 9:  “He listened to Paul as he was speaking.”

“So faith comes by hearing [what is told], and what is heard comes by the preaching [of the message that came from the lips] of Christ (the Messiah Himself)” ~ Romans 10:17 (AMP).

If we are going to WALK BY FAITH:  Learn to use what you do have, to receive what you have never had.

I don’t have to have mobilization of my feet, U-TIL-IZATION of my ears.

FAITH HEARING:  We must see what we have–to usher in our HEALING:

  • Our EARS – Be Positive/filter out all the negatives.
  • Our EARS – MOTIVATE NOT DENIGRATE.

ACTION:  RESUME/SKILLS; NAME/TALENT; CAR/DRIVE…

All I need to do is HEAR one word from the Lord and everything will be alright!

THE TEXT:  “He was listening to Paul as he talked and [Paul] gazing intently at him and observing that he had FAITH TO BE HEALED…”

Paul didn’t FOCUS on the man’s crippleness; he immediately FOCUSED on the man’s FAITH.

If we are going to WALK BY FAITH:  Sometimes when you have nothing to stand on, you have to stand on YOUR FAITH.

  • FEET/FAITH 
  • SURROUNDINGS/FAITH
  • I KNOW WHAT I’VE HEARD ABOUT/AROUND ME
  • I KNOW WHAT I BELIEVE INSIDE ME.

Some people around me say,  “I’m never going to walk, I’ve never walked…”

BUT BY FAITH…

THE TEXT:  Paul observing that he had faith…shouted at him (challenged him–the area of his strength…) “STAND ERECT ON YOUR FEET!”  AND HE LEAPED UP AND WALKED.

If you are going to WALK BY FAITH, KNOW AND UNDERSTAND that whatever previously bound you, you can presently GET UP from it!

Sharing A PROPHECY from a church service on Sunday, January 22, 2017.  The title is “Climb Higher and Believe Me” – [See Footnote [i]. ]

“O, I simply want My body to believe Me.  I want those who are Mine to take My Word as if they know nothing else, to place it at the forefront of their thinking and to believe Me.  This is the life in the spirit.  My words are spirit and they are life.”  I desire My Word to be primary in your thinking.  Kingdom thinking includes refusing to receive thoughts and imaginations that do not agree with My Word and My ways.  If something does not agree with My Word and My ways, I do not agree with it,  Be challenged by these things and come up higher in Me.” 

FAITH’S RESPONSIBILITY –

Who is responsible for having the FAITH to receive answered prayer?

When my prayers seem to go unanswered, it isn’t because my Heavenly Father didn’t want to answer them.  I simply didn’t give Him the FAITH He needed to move on my behalf.

So I encourage you to feed your mind with God’s Word.  Let it become that which dominates your thoughts day and night.  As you do that, your FAITH will be like a SEED planted in the ground.  Over time it will grow and grow and grow!

PHOTO PIN

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

CREDITS & FOOTNOTE (S) –

Footnote [i] :  Who’s Faith Matters? by Barry O. Johnson, Associate Pastor at Grace Christian Center on May 1, 2017.

PHOTOS:  Google Image Search, Advance Settings, and PHOTO PIN.

Bible Translations:  Amplified Bible (AMP); New International Version (NIV).

 

4 thoughts on “Crippled In His Feet, Able In His Mind

  1. Mel, your post has really made me think about faith in a whole new way! I mean really, that’s what God wants to develop in us most, right? So that we will know we can count on Him for both the small things and the larger things in our lives! The miracle is wonderful, but the relationship with Jesus is what’s most important, and it grows by having faith! Thank you for stretching my mind and causing me to ponder faith even more. My son was healed of an incurable disease three years ago. God went above and beyond what we expected! And whenever I tell people about it, I mention that we had 500 believers praying for him! Well… that’s a lot of FAITH! So of course God would heal him! And He timed it at the same time that I offered forgiveness to my father, whom I have no relationship with, yet went to care for him when he had cancer. God wanted to show me that He was planning to heal my son the whole time, but that he wanted to show me how powerful forgiveness is! It really grew my faith even more. Now I know when I forgive something difficult, that God is going to do something wonderful in my life! Faith! 🙏🏼😊
    I shared your post on my Facebook ministry page for The Silver Lining, at http://www.facebook.com/angelaslittleattic. I think it’s an encouraging post to start off my Encouragement theme for June. God bless you, Mel, in Jesus’ name. Keep the faith! 💙
    Blessings from angelaslittleattic.com
    So glad to be a part of your Christian blogging experience!

  2. Amen! Faith is expecting the impossible, not wondering if it will happen, maybe. And the way to strengthen your faith, is to use the faith you do have and of course, get into the Word. The more Word you have in you, the​ more faith you will have. (If you believe what you read applies to you.)

Leave a Reply

